Shenzhen Stock Exchange (SZSE), established on 1st December, 1990, is a self-regulated legal entity under the supervision of China Securities Regulatory Commission (CSRC). It also organizes, supervises securities trading and performs duties prescribed by laws, regulations, rules and policies. Its main functions include providing the venue and facilities for securities trading, formulating operational rules, receiving listing applications and arranging securities listing, organizing and supervising securities trading, supervising members; regulating listed companies, managing and disseminating market information and other functions as approved by the CSRC.


SZSE is committed to developing China’s multi-tiered capital market system, serving national economic development and transformation and supporting the national strategy of independent innovation. The SME Board was launched in May 2004. The ChiNext market was inaugurated in October 2009. In 2021, SZSE starts preparation for the merger between the Mainboard and the SME Board. Thus SZSE has basically put in place a framework of multi-tiered capital market comprising the Main Board and the ChiNext market. SZSE’s products cover equities, mutual funds and bonds. The product lines include A-shares, B-shares, indices, mutual funds (including ETFs and LOFs), fixed income products (including SME collective bonds and asset-backed securities), and diversified derivative financial products (including warrants and repurchases). SZSE plays an increasingly important role in supporting the real economy and transforming the nation’s economic growth model.


Since 2001, SZSE has signed MOUs with more than 50 major stock exchanges and financial institutions in the world and enhanced cross-border cooperation and communications. It has also taken an active part in international securities organizations. SZSE is a member of both the World Federation of Exchanges (WFE) and the Asian and Oceanian Stock Exchanges Federation (AOSEF). It is also an affiliate member of the International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO).